In Greek – "adámas" – means "unbreakable." Diamonds are the oldest gemstones and hardest raw materials on earth, which are also used for decorative purposes. Diamonds consist of crystallized carbon, which was created millions of years ago under immense heat (about 1,250°) under high pressure (40-60 atmospheres) at a depth of 150-200 km, in the melting pot of glowing lava. Volcanic eruptions threw the raw crystals to the surface. Most diamonds are over 100 million years old.

4Cs of the Diamond


The unit of weight by which a diamond is measured. 1 carat is one fifth of a gram (0.2 g). A 1-carat diamond weighs 100 points. Ct is the abbreviation.

Diamond Cut

Diamonds in this range are at the top of all grade settings and very rare due to perfect interaction of its facets and light. These diamonds reflect the light best and sparkle so intensely among all the diamond categories.

Diamond Cut Signature

Diamonds in this range are considered as having the highest cut grade. The interaction of facets shows a good balance and delivers fire and brightness in a diamond.

Diamond Cut Ideal

Diamonds in this range produce slight fire and sparkle compared to the ideal cut diamonds and deliver slight darkness.

Diamond Cut Very Good

Diamonds in this range reflect limited light and brilliance.

Diamond Cut Good

Diamond Clarity

This clarity scale is considered from flawless to internally flawless. These diamonds do not include any inclusions. Internally flawless diamonds may only contain faint external blemishes, which are removable by repolishing. Flawless and Internally Flawless diamonds are very rare.

Diamond Clarity FL - IF

Diamonds with this clarity may contain very, very slight inclusions, that are extremely hard to detect under a 10X magnification mirror and are not noticeable with naked-eye.

Diamond Clarity VVS1 - VVS2

Diamonds with this clarity contain very slight minor inclusions that can be seen under a 10X magnification mirror and are not noticeable to the naked-eye.

Diamond Clarity VS1 - VS2

Diamonds in this clarity group include slight inclusions that can be detected under a 10X magnification mirror.

Diamond Clarity SI1 - SI2

Diamonds contain slight inclusions, are noticeable under graded 10X magnification, and visible to the naked eye under close examination.

Diamond Clarity I1

Diamonds contain obvious inclusions that may affect the brilliance of the diamonds. Inclusions on these diamonds are visible to the naked eye.

Diamond Clarity I2 - I3

Diamond Color

D diamonds are the finest white and colorless; the rarest color grades and have the highest value.

Diamond Colour D

E diamonds are the second highest color grade in “colorless” scale. E diamonds are referred to as rare white and exceptionally fine.

Diamond Colour E

F diamonds are on the last grade of “colorless” scale and considered as rare and fine white diamonds.

Diamond Colour F

G diamonds are on the first place to “near colorless” scale; are very valuable. They contain slight traces of white color.

Diamond Colour G

H diamonds are on the “near colorless” scale and slightly colored. The color on the H diamonds can only be detected when compared with other colorless diamonds.

Diamond Colour H

I diamonds are slightly tinted and considered as “near colorless”. The slight color on the I diamonds may be detected.

Diamond Colour I

J diamonds are considered as on the last scale of “near colorless” grade. The slight white color of J diamonds can be detected.

Diamond Colour J

K-Z grade diamonds are considered as slightly colored to colored diamonds; from light yellow to yellow.

Diamond Colour KZ

What is a Diamond Certificate?

Design Your Product

Diamonds are natural stones and each diamond comes with unique internal and external characteristics. In addition to its size and color, birthmarks inside the diamond also determine its characteristics. The value of a diamond is based on the combination of these qualities.

The four important characteristics that are used to classify a diamond are known as the “4Cs of the diamond”: Color, Clarity, Cut and Carat. These characteristics are evaluated by diamond professionals and often documented in detail. This document is called a grading report or diamond certificate. Diamond certificates are important as they show the quality and the value of the diamond in your jewelry.

GL Certified Diamonds

Design Your Product

All GL diamonds are carefully selected from fully credible diamond suppliers in the participant - countries of the Kimberley Process.GL certified diamonds are in H Color, VS clarity and Very Good cut. GLAMIRA provides GIA certified diamonds as well as GL certified diamonds.

GIA Certified Diamonds

Design Your Product

There are many local and international diamond grading institutes that provide diamond certificates such as GIA, HRD, IGI, AGS, etc. GIA (Gemological Institute of America), a nonprofit institute in the field of gemology, is the most widely known and respected diamond grading institute in the world. GLAMIRA gives you a choice of ordering your product with a GIA certified diamond, where you can customize the color, clarity and cut of the diamond to be used on your setting.